Backcountry Brewery

This was great! So, my husband, who doesn’t really care for cycling (except for sometimes mountain biking) says to me “This Saturday do you wanna ride from Frisco to the top of Vail Pass?” I couldn’t believe what I had just heard. I explain to him that it is a concrete path and we wouldn’t be mountain biking on dirt trails. He responds with “I know, but you need to do a training ride and I want to go with you.” Well, I couldn’t pass up an offer like that so away we went!

With me on my road bike and him on his mountain bike we ascended the beautiful trail up to Vail Pass (10,603 ft). It was definitely more of a challenge for my poor hubby since he was riding a mountain bike but we had a great time and it was a gorgeous day! Let me just also say (just in case he ever reads this) my hubby is in great shape, hikes 4x a week, lifts, and snowboards all winter long so he is by no means out of shape. At the top we took the obligatory pictures and then started our fun and fast decent back into Frisco!

So let me get to the beer part….

We, of course, do everything so that we can “earn” our beer and nachos, which we did today. We headed to one of our favorite spots, Backcountry Brewery in Frisco. We sat in the shade on the patio and had a wonderful view of the surrounding mountains. I ordered their seasonal Barleywine Ale and wow was it great! It only comes in an 8 oz pour since it has a much higher alcohol content that most other beers. I believe the waitress said that it was around 10% ABV (alcohol by volume). Hubby had the Peak One Robust Porter which is 6% ABV and only 35 IBU’s (International Bittering Units). It tasted nice but I’m not the biggest fan of black/dark beers. I sipped my slowly while I inhaled my yummy nachos. Meanwhile he had punished his porter and was on to the next beer…the Switchback Amber. This one was lighter in color with 5.38% ABV and 28 IBU’s. I would have preferred it over the porter but my Barleywine Ale was hands down my favorite!!

All in all, I always love a trip to the Backcountry Brewery and earning it anyway you can in the playground known as Summit County Colorado makes for a fabulous day!

Cheers!

~ by willtriforbeer on August 17, 2011.

5 Responses to “Backcountry Brewery”

  1. Very jealous of you guys, for both the beer and cycling. Glad to see you start a blog, it’s inspired Janelle and I to continue ours….this will show Facebook!

    • We’ll all have to get together for a cycle fest that ends with good beers! The hard part is getting all of us together…the easy part is cycling and drinking 🙂

  2. Now I’m really glad you started writing this blog, I had no idea how much you’ve actually accomplished. Congratulations Jen!

  3. The above comment was meant for your swimming journey. Sorry, drinking and surfing again 😦

Leave a Reply

 
