2011 – The amazing microbrew summer!

So anyone who knows me knows that I LOVE beer! Hubby and I drink a lot of micro-brews, brew our own beer, and travel to different microbreweries around the country whenever we can. At the beginning of this last summer I decided that I wanted to try new beers every weekend. Living where we do afforded us the opportunity to drink several “new” beers every weekend without running out of options.

Every Friday and Saturday night you could find us on our patio, fire roaring, puppy running around, food being grilled and sipping on these fabulous brews! Half-way though the summer I decided that I needed to create a database to house all of our beer information and our tasting notes. I was originally going to create a relational Oracle database but then realized the benefits of using a flat db, Bento, that could be accessed from my iTouch on the patio so that I could takes notes while imbibing. I was also able to take a photo of the bottle and attach it to the db. This became my summer “project”.

Here is a list of just SOME of the out-of-this-world beers that we sampled!

  • Deschutes, Black Butte Porter
  • Deschutes, Hop in the Dark
  • Great Divide, 17th Anniversary Wood Aged Double IPA
  • Great Divide, Hercules Double IPA (probably my favorite, for now anyway)
  • Great Divide, Yeti Imperial Stout
  • Great Divide, Old Ruffian Barley-wine Ale
  • Dry Dock, Double IPA
  • Mountain Sun, Redemption Red
  • Mountain Sun, FYIPA
  • Avery, Dugana IPA
  • Lakefront, India Black Ale
  • Odells, India Barley-wine
  • Santa Fe Brewing, Chicken Killer
  • Uinta, Labyrinth Black Ale (both of us LOVED this one)
  • Uinta, Anniversary Barley-wine Ale
  • Stone, Imperial India Black Ale
  • Stone, Sublimely Self Righteous

Our favorite microbreweries have always been: Mountain Sun, Avery, and Odells. We’ve always had a special place in our heart for Wild Mountain too but this summer proved to us that Deschutes, Great Divide, Stone, and Uinta are close 2nds. We haven’t visited any of these but they are definitely on our list of places to travel to…but that will be another Post 😉

~ by willtriforbeer on October 10, 2011.

3 Responses to “2011 – The amazing microbrew summer!”

  1. I have never put that much effort into relaxing….I’m jealous?

    John

  2. Also, why aren’t you posting this on Facebook?!

Leave a Reply

 
