Ode to the training buddy

Last year at the beginning of a triathlon (Boulder 5430) I met my training buddy. I didn’t know she’d end up being my training buddy, that day we just talked, shared experiences, and reveled in finishing a great triathlon. We talked about meeting in the up coming week at an open water swim to do more training. Then after that we started meeting regularly for open water swim training and found some great coaches. We decided to start meeting on Sundays for long rides. We did another race together (Boulder Peak) and a few separately that we had already signed up for. I didn’t think much of it at the time but now that it has become winter and I don’t get to see my training buddy because of cold weather, the distance between where we live, and no open water swimming available in CO (ha ha) I realize how important it is to have someone to train with. Someone to help you through the tough workouts. Someone to talk to while passing the time away on the long bike rides. Someone to discuss new gear and training ideas with. Someone to help you remember why you do this crazy training stuff.

We have both signed up for the Boulder Tri Series again this summer with the races culminating with a half ironman (70.3 miles). We are planning to train again this summer. Hitting the open water swims early morning and long bike rides or runs on the weekends. I look forward to getting outside and training with my buddy and hopefully we will do well with our 70.3 miles!

I have only had a hand full of training buddies throughout the years and each one of them were special to me and helped me with obtaining goals along with way. I would just like to say Thank You to all that I have trained with, learned from, and helped me to keep up the athleticism over all the years! Special thanks to my current training buddy!

~ by willtriforbeer on March 1, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
