In awe

Lately I’ve been noticing that I am surrounded by amazing women. Most of them I don’t really know but I meet them through events, races, the gym, and even some through blogs, Facebook and other social media. Since I train in one of triathlon’s meccas, Boulder, CO, it’s not hard to believe that the women in this area are strong, motivated, dedicated and incredibly athletic. A large portion of these women are in their 40’s or 50’s and look like they are in their 30’s.

A perfect example comes from meeting some women the other night at a local bike shop event where we had wine, cheese & chocolate, got to know each other and listened to experts give talks on bikes, nutrition, and clothing. One woman was telling me how last Sunday she did a 4 hour ride and then ran 6 miles. GULP! I opted not to tell her about my great accomplishment last Sunday which was a 1.5 hour ride and a 45 min swim. BTW this woman was in her early 50’s! Another women told of the 5 hour bike ride that she did last weekend. Really, wow, I cannot image being on a bike for 5 hours.

A couple of weeks ago a woman at my gym, who I talk to regularly, responded to my question of “How was your swim today” with “oh, it was just an easy day and I only did 2800 meters”. I actually did LOL! I know that she does long distance swim races in open water so 2800 meters is an easy swim for her but 2800 would be a record for me! I didn’t tell her that I had just finished a 1600 meter swim. Another female at my gym is a pro-triathlete and races half and full Ironman races every couple of weekends. When she swims in the pool you’d think she had a motor attached to her.

I’m also part of a triathlete on-line group in which we can all see each others training logs. I see many females who are logging many hour long rides and then also what I consider to be long runs and/or swims afterwards. I’m just in awe of this kind of training. I’ll read someone’s blog that talks of doing brick training where they rode for 4 hours and then went for an “easy” 7 mile run. I realize all the hard work and dedication that these women have and I’m inspired.

I guess where you’re at in your training is all relative. When I learned to swim just shy of 2 years ago now I didn’t know if I’d ever be able to swim 1000 meters and now that is considered a very easy day for me. I remember a long time ago when I use to “train” for a 5k and now I’d be able to run one any day of the week without any thought. Riding 10 miles on my bike…almost not even worth the time to strap on the cycling shoes. So I guess we are all in different places at different times. Maybe I can’t imagine riding for 4 hours right now but if I work at it for long enough it will just be what I do without even thinking about it. Work hard reap the rewards!

~ by willtriforbeer on April 30, 2012.

4 Responses to “In awe”

  1. Great job! The best motivation is to look behind you and see how far you’ve come. Keep it up!

  2. Love this – all so true! Just wait – it won’t be long before you’re totally rocking the long stuff! I SO want to get to train and/or race somewhere with you this summer. We WILL make it happen!

  3. I like older ladies…

  4. Wait…that comment was kinda creepy? Sorry 😦

Leave a Reply

 
