Riding loose and free

I usually would head to my normal training grounds in Boulder (and surrounding areas) but today I decided to ride up in my neck of the woods, literally. I decided I would ride the Peak to Peak highway. It’s a mountain highway through the woods that goes up and down, and up and down, and up and down, and up and down and up and down, well, you get the picture. I headed out with really no expectations: no time goals, no mileage goals, no intervals, just me and my bike. I even stopped to take some photos of a heard of elk.

I had a nice time just riding and not having to be anywhere since it’s a holiday and I had the day off of work! With no time goals, when I hit a steep incline I just relaxed and rode it without the feeling of having to hammer up the incline. Don’t get me wrong climbing a hill at 9,000 ft is hard no matter what pace you’re doing but I just didn’t feel the need to “improve” today.

Before I knew it I had ridden 13 miles which is not a big deal if I’m riding on the flats down in Boulder but when I’m constantly climbing I knew I should probably turn around as I would have equally as much climbing on the ride back. There were lots of motorcycles cruising the Peak to Peak today but not a lot of traffic which was nice. The weather was calm, with slight clouds, and great temps. It was an uneventful and pleasant ride.

At the end of the ride I checked my bike computer which said that I had ridden just over 26 miles in 2 hours. I hadn’t really check it the whole way since I just wasn’t concerned about it today. I was pleased with my ride. I wasn’t able to get into my aero bars much because of all the ascending and descending but that way okay too. All I can say is I enjoyed myself today. Even as I write this I just feel relaxed, unfettered, and content. Here’s to having no goals at times and just going with the flow! Happy 4th of July everyone!

~ by willtriforbeer on July 4, 2012.

2 Responses to “Riding loose and free”

  1. Looks like a great ride! Thanks for sharing!
    On a tech note, what type of camera do you use when you’re out on your rides?

    • It’s an Olympus Stylus. I like it cuz its compact, shock proof from a drop of about 6 feet, waterproof down to 10 feet, and won’t freeze in the winter. Doesn’t have the best zoom though.

Leave a Reply

 
