I am not a triathlete – ?

I’ve been doing triathlons now for two seasons. I’ve currently done 7 sprints, 3 olympics, 1 long course aquabike, and a 70.3. During this time I’ve always said that “I do triathlons” and have completely avoided saying that “I am a triathlete.” I haven’t been able to put my finger on it but I know that I have been uncomfortable saying that I’m a triathlete. Maybe it’s because I’m not fast enough or that I haven’t been doing the sport long enough. Maybe it’s because of the image I have of triathletes (strong, powerful, thin with no fat) and I don’t see myself in that light. Maybe it’s because I don’t get paid to do it or even sponsorship. Maybe I’m afraid of sounding arrogant or like a show off. Maybe it’s because I feel that I just complete the race I don’t race the race. Maybe it’s because I train in Boulder among the elites and pros. Maybe it’s that I don’t like labels. I’m not sure what it is but for some reason I like to just think of myself as doing triathlons.

I even found myself correcting my doctor’s assistant one day. He was asking me if I worked out regularly. I giggled a little and said “yes”. He asked what I did for exercise. I told him that six days a week I’m either swimming, running, cycling or lifting. Then he said “oh, you’re a triathlete” and my response was “well I do triathlons.” Even at races they have areas marked off for the “Athletes” and I never assume that’s me. I always thinks that means the pros. There was a lady at the gym who saw me running and swimming and said to me one day “oh, well you’re a triathlete” and of course I said…”well, I do triathlons.”

I’ve already registered for another 70.3 in 2013 (Racine) and my training is continuing as normal. Maybe it will take just one more season. Maybe after I do another 70.3. Maybe I just need more experience. Maybe I’ll have to do a full Ironman. Maybe if I quite drinking beer and get ripped. Maybe someday I’ll be able to say “I am a Triathlete!” But until then I’m quite okay with just saying that I do them.

~ by willtriforbeer on October 5, 2012.

One Response to “I am not a triathlete – ?”

  1. If you’re not a triathlete then I must be lying to all my friends!
    Remember you are just doing the best you can and happy that you can do what you do.

Leave a Reply

 
