Television

I’d like to talk about TV. We all pretty much grew up with it. It’s sometimes thought of as one of the greatest inventions.The advancements in TV’s and TV recording devices each year are impressive. And don’t get me started about the sizes of TV’s nowadays.

About 4 or 5 years ago my hubby brought up that he wasn’t fond of my TV watching habit while we were laying in bed trying to fall asleep. Quite often I would fall asleep while the TV was still on and turn it off in my sleep during the night. At that time, I started thinking about the possibility of going to bed WITHOUT watching TV in bed. It freaked me out! I had been watching TV in bed my whole life! How would I fall asleep?

I remember the black and white 13-inch TV in a white casing that my parents first gave me for my room when I was young. Closer to college they upgraded me to a color 13-inch TV which I owned until 1997 when I was able to buy my very own 24-inch Sony Trinitron color TV! Man, that was a great TV. We actually just got rid of it 2 years ago.

Anyway, back to not watching TV in bed. I decided to give it a go because hubby is more important than TV (I’ll win points later when he reads this)! One night a week I would watch TV in the living room before bed but when I went to bed I would read a book instead of turning on the TV in the bedroom. Slowly the one night grew into two, then three, and so on. Reading became more important and I started finishing books. This was great! I was feeling more rested in the mornings and being more productive by reading. That new habit has been around now for quite a long time and I don’t miss watching TV in bed (unless I’m sick).

Lately I’ve been thinking how it would change my views, thoughts, and restful feelings if I would watch less TV altogether. Not that I watch that much TV but I quite often turn it on just to have noise in the house or while I’m doing other things. Five weeks ago I started not turning on the TV at all one day a week. Now on that night, it is quiet in the house, I’ll put on some relaxation music, get my chores done, and then spend some time with the dog on my lap and/or reading with candles lit. It is very peaceful. The quality time with the fur-baby is great and I feel more restful when I turn in to go to bed. These benefits rollover to other aspects of my life.

I’m happy that I’ve decided to kill my TV…at least one day a week 🙂

 

~ by willtriforbeer on February 25, 2013.

5 Responses to “Television”

  1. I was/am a total TV junkie. We turned off our cable almost 18 months ago… we do have netflix, but I get so much more done now that I am not a slave to my TV schedule. Great post!

  2. Great post Jen, I was a TV addict as a kid, but that was before computers and internet and ipods, etc, etc. Now I turn it on for my ‘special’ shows, or I put it on of a night if I cannot sleep until I fall asleep, but I certainly watch less of it than I used to. I’d rather chill out to some music or read also.

  3. Very cool post. I grew up the same way, I joke around sometimes that TV helped raise me. I’ve gotten into the habit of reading before bed too, but this usually ends with the iPad smacking me in the face as I nod off. Having the TV on as white noise is something I need to break also, I know it would make Janelle happy! 🙂

  4. Great post, Jen! I totally remember the TV in your room. I also remember watching Friday Night Videos all night long in your basement!

    I also have a TV at bedtime habit that I need to try to break. I love your idea of starting with one night each week. You’ve inspired me. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

 
