Moose outside my window

My heart is still racing from the excitement of my morning. It was exciting for me at least. I don’t know if others would feel the same way.

I was sitting a chair in the living room reading my Triathlete magazine snuggled up with a blanket feeling all relaxed. I looked out the front window and saw a huge bull moose just standing there. I jumped to my feet and realized that I needed to not let puppy see the moose or he would bark and scare away the beautiful creature. I put puppy in the bedroom and shut the door. He, of course, was not thrilled but he would have to deal with it.

I fumbled for my camera since I was shaking from the excitement. I LOVE moose and feel this way every time I see one. To really experience how HUGE and magnificent they are up close and personal is a true treat. I started snapping photos, some not so great because of my shaky hands. He walked around the house to the back side where I realized that he was with another bull moose that was missing his antlers (I originally mistook him for a female because of the missing antlers). I watched them eating the dead leaves off of the Aspen trees and just meandering around our property.

DSCF6255

I see moose fairly often driving though the mountains but have never seen one on our property. I’ve always secretly hoped that I would walk out to my truck one morning for work and just see one standing there so for this to happen was kinda a dream come true.

DSCF6256

This has just totally made my morning and I feel as if I don’t have to accomplish anything else the entire day. Not that this was an accomplishment for me as I really did nothing except look in the right direction at the right time.

DSCF6259

I also got some pretty decent video of each of the moose as they cruised by the back deck but unfortunately I cannot upload them here. Here’s to a good start to the day and to being so lucky as to see nature’s creatures up close and personal.

~ by willtriforbeer on March 30, 2013.

4 Responses to “Moose outside my window”

  1. I am so glad you had your own moose in the yard. Sorry puppy didn’t get to see it too. Also glad puppy wasn’t out playing ball at the time.
    I am happy to hear that you spend at least one night a week reflecting and reading that is good for the soul.

  2. That’s so cool. Don’t they kill more people then bears?

Leave a Reply

 
