It’s not how fast you get there, but how much you enjoy it along the way

I live at 9,000 ft in the mountains and I work at just above 5,000 ft so I have a mini adventure on many of my days of commuting to work. My drive is about an hour one way and takes me though mountain meadows, winding roads, steep canyons, and along fast flowing creeks. There are two different routes that I normally take; each one equally beautiful for different reasons. Driving on mountain roads and dirt roads, in my opinion, is far better than commuting on crowded highways which is one of the reason that we live where we do. Now, it may take us a little longer but we’ve decided that we’re okay with that.

With this many signs...you know it has to be a fun road to drive on!

With this many signs…you know it has to be a fun road to drive on!

Some days what makes my drive so exciting is the weather or conditions that I encounter:

Driving in snow is not my favorite thing to do but it is always quiet and beautiful.

Driving in snow is not my favorite thing to do but it is always quiet and beautiful.

Wet spring snow.

Wet spring snow.

DSCF5598

Breathtaking sunrises are a spectacular sight in the mornings.

Gorgeous sunsets make for a relaxing feeling while driving home.

Gorgeous sunsets make for a relaxing feeling while driving home.

DSCF6750

Double rainbow. Are you kidding me with the beauty of this?

Foggy mornings make it easy for good pictures.

Foggy mornings make it easy for good pictures.

Some days it’s the wild animals that I get to photograph:

DSCF6785

Bull moose in my neighborhood as I was coming home from work.

Bear in Boulder Canyon

Bear in Boulder Canyon

This fox posed for me as I was driving by.

This fox posed for me as I was driving by.

Elk grazing in the early fall snow.

Elk grazing in the early fall snow.

A buck and a doe hiding in the aspen and pine trees in the winter.

A buck and a doe hiding in the aspen and pine trees in the winter.

Coyote thinking about dinner.

Coyote thinking about dinner.

Female moose trotting across the road.

Female moose trotting across the road.

Young male elk near the road.

Young male elk near the road.

Some days it’s just the plain ol’ scenery that is exciting:

Snow in the pines with the moon in the distance.

The Continental Divide looking from the east.

The Continental Divide looking from the east.

Lake with deer standing on the natural land bridge.

Lake with deer standing on the natural land bridge.

Early morning frost in the trees.

Early morning frost in the trees.

Fall is an especially beautiful time of year to commute on these roads.

Fall is an especially beautiful time of year to commute on these roads.

Summer mornings.

Summer mornings.

Spring evenings.

Spring evenings.

Cold winters.

Cold winters.

Continental Divide.

Continental Divide before the big snows in winter.

Rainy day. The day before the big Colorado floods on 09/12/13.

Rainy day. The day before the big Colorado floods on 09/12/13.

~ by willtriforbeer on September 13, 2013.

3 Responses to “It’s not how fast you get there, but how much you enjoy it along the way”

  1. Do you want an apprentice>? I need to live this life! I am so jealous and love your blog!

  2. Your pictures are unbelievable. What a gift to be able to see such views daily. Enjoy your wonderful life!

Leave a Reply

 
