Race Report – 2014 Boulder 70.3

After writing many race reports they all start to sound the same: woke up early, set up transition, did the swim, bike, run thing and celebrated with a beer. So this year I decided to do something different. During the race I made mental notes as to how I was feeling and what I was thinking at each mile marker. This is how it turned out…

Driving to the race: “Relax. Just relax. Breathe deep and stay calm. Oh yea, I should listen to some good music”

Setting up transition: I’m focused. Think about everything you need and how it should all be set up. “Are my tires pumped? Are my gears shifted down? Are my left and right socks paired up with the correct shoes? Did I put sunscreen on?” The questioning goes on and on.

Waiting in my swim wave for the gun to go off with nerves at their peak: “Why do I do this? I should be at home sleeping like a normal person. I even PAID a lot of money to do this! I’m not doing this next year. This is bullshit!”

Gun goes off and we start swimming: “Oh shit, this is real!”

First few hundred meters of the swim: “Relax. Breathe. Don’t go out too fast. This is not a race, I just need to survive!”

The next hundred meters: “There’s too many people. I need to move to the outside. I think I’m claustrophobic. Either that or I just don’t like getting smacked in the head while trying to swim.”

Half way though the swim: “Okay, I got this. This isn’t so bad. In fact, it’s quiet beautiful out here in the middle of the lake with the flatirons in the background. This is nice.”

A few minutes later: “What the hell? Some guy just swam over top of me!”

A bit after that: “I’m rounding the last turn. Heading for shore. I can see the beach house. I just need to aim for the beach house. I’m not dying and this is almost fun. Maybe I’ll pick up the pace just a bit.”

A hundred meters later: “Oh shit, I’m tired. I shouldn’t have picked up the pace. Just keep it easy. Nice and easy.”

200 hundred meters from the swim finish: “Okay, start kicking to warm up those legs. I’ve almost got it. Keep swimming strong, people are watching. Last chance to pee!”

Exiting the water: “Hey, there’s Colleen! Oh my gosh, I’m so dizzy. Focus on a spot straight ahead. Don’t fall over, that would be so embarrassing.”0736_008101

Starting out on the bike: “Oh, it feels good to be able to breathe. Don’t go out too hard, there’s a hill coming up.”

After the hill: “I’m hungry. Swimming makes me so hungry. Think I’ll eat a Honey Stinger waffle.”

Broadway, 4 miles in: “It feels good to stretch and use my legs. I think I could keep this up all day!”

US 36, 5 miles in: “Woo hoo…a big downhill! Now, I’m a rock star!”

US 36,  8 miles in: “Hey, look at that…I just passed someone. Looks like it’s a race now kids.”

US 36, 10 miles in: “Ew, a snake! He’s huge! Wonder if someone will run over him today?”

US 36, 12 miles in: “I should sing a song to pass the time. What should I sing? All I can think of is Dire Wolf from the Grateful Dead. It was probably the last song I heard in the truck.” Six hundred pounds of sin was grinning at my window all I said was, “Come on in”.

Hwy 66, 15 miles in: “This is fun! I love cycling! Everyone should do triathlons. I wouldn’t want to be anywhere else right now.”

0736_004764

75th St, 20 miles in: “Triathlon is a metaphor for life. You have ups and downs. Times that are hard and you have to dig deep to find what you are made of. Times that are exciting and joyful. Times that are rewarding. If you’re struggling in the swim or with a part of life just keep going and soon you will be onto something new like the run or a different part of your life. Just keep moving forward one step at a time. Relentless Forward Progression!

CO. Rd 23, 25 miles in: “Need to take in more GU. Also, don’t forget to keep sippin on my EFS bottle.”

CO. Rd 21, 30 miles in: “I’ve worked hard for 5 months training for this. I get up early every morning, train 6-7 days a week, watch what I eat, try to be healthy and do what right and this is my reward! I’m doing it…something I would have never imagined that I would ever do. That’s an amazing feeling!

Airport Rd, 40 miles in: “I’m feeling pretty good about this. I feel strong!”

75th St, 43 miles in: “I’m bored. I wish I had a beer.”

Diagonal Hwy, 50 miles in: “My mind is numb and I’m on autopilot.”

51st St, 54 miles in: “My ass hurts so bad. Not only my ass but my woo-ha too! This hill is killing me. I can’t wait to get off this bike!”

Boulder Reservoir, 56 miles in: “Thank goodness I’m almost done with this biking crap! Oh, look strong, here’s the crowd. Act like this is not killing you. I can’t wait to get off this seat and start running!”

Run start: “Are you kidding me, I have to run a half marathon now?!”

Run, mile .5: Some well meaning but not very bright girl at an aid station yells “You’re almost done!” I wanted to smack her! Seriously? No one at this point in the race is “almost” done. We are either .5 mile or 6.5 miles into a 13.1 mile run. She is an idiot and knows nothing about running. 2 hours and 35 minutes later I would end up thinking “Hey, I’m almost done, NOW.”

Run, mile 3: “Alright, I’m hitting my groove. This is so freakin cool. I’m extremely happy with myself that I’m able to do this.”

Run, mile 4: “I’m still feeling good and I think my pace is right on track!”

0736_046345

Run, mile 5: “OMG, I gotta walk some. This is killing me. I’m so tired and I can’t catch my breath.”

Run, mile 6: “This wind is ridiculous! I’m running straight into a head wind and I almost just lost my hat!”

Run, mile 7: I see a guy with a funny sign. It reads “70.3 is long and hard! That’s what she said.” Made me laugh out loud which is just what I needed at that time.

Run, mile 8: “I can’t hold it anymore. I gotta pee!”

Run, mile 9: “Yum, potato chips! I love potato chips! I love potato chips!”

Run, mile 10: I told a complete stranger that I’m retiring from long course racing. I’m tired of doing a death march to the finish line (as we were walking). Ugh.

Run, mile 11: “This is happening! I’m really going to finish!

Run, mile 12: “Okay, walk for just a bit so that I have enough energy to finish strong.”

Run, mile 12.5: “Now, let ‘er rip! Give ‘er all ya got and finish strong. I might be able to beat my previous times!”

Run, mile 13: “There it is…the finish line! I am completing my 3rd half ironman race! This is so awesome! So awesome! I can do ANYTHING!”

0736_033459

After the race: I soaked in the Boulder Creek so that I could ice my legs and reduce any swelling. This also helps with recovery. It was very peaceful and I was finally able to breathe normally.

After I got home: I felt accomplished, proud, tired, happy, positive, and just general joy about everything. I also felt like I earned my beer for the day. I cracked open a Hop Henge IPA from Deschutes Brewery and celebrate my accomplishment. “Ah, now what race am I gonna sign up for?”

~ by willtriforbeer on June 20, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
