Whistler/Blackcomb – day four

I had planned not to ski on day four while hubby hit the slopes by himself for the day. Since my day was wide open I figured I’d go down to the fitness center and get in a 1.5 hour bike ride first. I’m training for the Boulder half ironman and still have to get in a certain amount of training even when on vacation. After that I did a lot of stretching and some core work. They have a great facility at the Four Seasons offering everything from towels and headsets to apples and Gatorade. It made me smile when I noticed that when they set out the red apples they had the red Gatorade and when they offered up the green apples they had the green Gatorade available. I love things to match! I hope they don’t mind but I ate the apples for my breakfast before skiing every morning.

Next up for me was the eucalyptus steam room. It was very similar to the one at my gym but somehow seemed better since I was on vacation and not in a hurry to get to work. Usually I get to hit the steam room or sauna for only about 10 minutes so that I can make it to the ol’ job on time. But on vacation…I could take as long as I liked in there.

As I exited the steam room I saw an open rain shower head hanging from the ceiling with a sign indicating that it was fresh alpine water. I turned it on and was greeted with a blast of freezing cold “alpine” water. Basically it was what we would call spring run-off when the snow melts. It was exhilarating to say the least! Now that I was hot on the inside and freezing cold on the outside I figured I’d go swim in the pool.

The pool area was empty with the exception of one other lady who was reading a book. I took a seat, propped up my feet, and stared off into the distance at the snow covered peaks. It was sunny and warm with no wind. I kept thinking that I could get used to this. I was so nice knowing that I had nothing to worry about, no commitments, and nowhere to be.

IMG_3603

Hubby showed up earlier than expected so we jump in the jacuzzi and relaxed until it got too hot to stay in. They have the nicest shower accommodations with their fitness center/pool area so I was able to completely get ready without any of my normal toiletries.

We caught the bus back to Vancouver. This time it only took about 2 hours to get back and we had nice weather so I was able to take a few pics. They’re still not the best since they were from behind a glass window on a moving bus.

IMG_3627 IMG_3630 IMG_3635

~ by willtriforbeer on June 21, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
