Spain, Madrid – Part 3

We started the day by just wandering the streets and slowly heading to an area of town that we hadn’t checked out yet.

IMG_9343

IMG_9340

After wandering by several restaurants that were about ready to open we chose Cervezas La Fabrica and I am so glad that we did. We had such an amazing experience at this place. Many locals eat here and not many tourists so we knew it would be authentic. We sat at one of the few tables in the front. We were waited on by what I can only assume was the owner; an older gentleman who spoke no English.

IMG_9344

IMG_9346

IMG_9347

We made our way through ordering with our sad Spanish but in the end we both understood what we wanted. We ordered the divorcio which is anchovies and mussels and the pulpo a la gallega which is octopus with red pepper and olive oil. All three were delicious! It was the first time that I had ever tasted anchovies. Not bad but I still don’t want them on pizza. The octopus was my favorite! We drank Granbazán Etiqueta Ámbar (white wine) with our lunch and then we both had a caña of Mahou Clasica towards the end. It was a fun place with great food and an experience that I won’t soon forget.

IMG_9353

After lunch we headed east and walked towards El Retiro park. We first passed by Ayuntamiento De Madrid. As best I could tell it was City Hall.

IMG_9362

Then we passed by the Puerta de Alcalá; a Neo-classical monument in the Plaza de la Independencia.

IMG_9363

We saw the most adorable crazy squirrel in the El Retiro park. I took probably 20 pics of this silly squirrel.

IMG_9368

And then I saw what I thought was 2 parakeets just playing in the grass. I wasn’t sure what this was about or whether parakeets are native to Spaid so I took the photos and then found this later in The Telegraph; “The Spanish capital has declared war on raccoons and parakeets that have proliferated in the wild over the last five years following their release by pet owners. Madrid’s parks have seen an explosion in the population of the squawking exotic parakeets, which dislodge native species from their nesting sites.” Now I know.

IMG_9399

IMG_9378

IMG_9385

IMG_9406

IMG_9407

Next we toured the Museo Nacional del Prado. I love how we tour museums. We took a few minutes to study the map and see what genres of art we would like to see most and then head straight there. Tops on my list was Goya, El Greco, Rogier Van Der Weyden, Peter Paul Rubens, and Velazquez.

Some of my favorites were The Garden of Earthly Delights by Hieronymus Bosch, Saturn Devouring His Son by Goya, Las Meninas by Velazquez, and The Annunciation by Robert Campin. I specifically remembered these from college. It is so fun to see them up close and in person after studying them for years.

IMG_9409

After the museum we were super hungry so we headed to Taberna La Dolores for a snack. It was crowded and standing room only so we stood at the bar and ordered jamon Iberico and chorizo sandwiches.

IMG_9411

IMG_9414

And more walking.

IMG_9415

IMG_9425

I had read about El Pedal, a beer bar, in someone’s blog before leaving the states so we had planned on seeing what they had to offer. They had a very nice selection with about 10 beers on tap. I started off with the best one; Achtung! Imperial Porter brewed by Yria in Spain. I just loved this brew. Hubby had Heretic Imperial Stout brewed by Cervesa Artesana Reptilian, which wasn’t sweet and was more bitter than I usually care for. Before leaving we split the Magnum Squad a collaboration between Cerves Guineu and Yria. It was pretty good.IMG_9427

For dinner we chose El Diario from the Rick Steves book. We have never had a bad recommendation from his books and this one lived up to the expectation as well.

IMG_9446

IMG_9443

IMG_9436

IMG_9440

I had broken fried eggs with iberico jamon on top while hubby had oxtail with fries. Both were very good. We split a bottle of Rioja. The restaurant had a fun atmosphere, good food and good wine. Next was the long walk home in the dark.

~ by willtriforbeer on January 21, 2016.

2 Responses to “Spain, Madrid – Part 3”

  1. I can’t believe how beautiful the architecture is over there and everything looks so pristine. Your camera takes very good pictures as well. Only one meal that I would not have been able to eat…octopus and anchovies…Yuck!
    As picky as you used to be, I can’t believe you ate it either! Must have helped having beers….lots of beers! LOL

Leave a Reply

 
