Trail Run – Coalton TH 01/23/16

Hubby bought me a Boulder Mountain Parks pass this year. I used to run on these trails all the time until they made the trailheads pay lots. It’s $5 a day if you don’t have a pass. Well for the past few years I’ve just refused to run there since I spent 20 years running there for free. What I didn’t know is that the pass only cost $25 a year and it’s not hard to get. Well now I just feel silly.

During those few years I ran a lot on the mayhoffer-singletree trail from the Coalton TH so my runs lately have been focused more on hitting the old trails that I use to hit. Today I was planning on running from either the Flatirons Vista TH or the Greenbelt Plateau TH. Both were closed due to the snow-melt creating muddy conditions. I didn’t want to drive all around Boulder so I just ran on the mayhoffer-singletree trail. Don’t get me wrong it’s a great trail I was just hoping for something different today.

The trail was completely free of snow and ice and I ran with just my regular run shoes. This week has been the first week of my official training for Boulder 70.3 so my run was to only be one hour. I started out too fast. I think it was because there was no snow to worry about. I felt free! I did over dress, however, which made me overheat. I should have left the gloves and hat in the car and maybe even the jacket. My piriformis started to hurt towards the end so I’ll have to work on that.

IMG_0396

IMG_0395

~ by willtriforbeer on January 23, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
