Trail Run – Rollins Pass – 01/10/16

For some reason I got it in my head that I wanted to run on Tolland Road in Rollinsville (8,400 ft) today. I drove to the east end and had planned to park near 119 and run the road westbound. It was somewhat dry from wind blowing the snow off so it would have been a good run, but no, I changed my mind at last minute and decided to drive to the East Portal and run eastbound.

For anyone who isn’t familiar with the East Portal it is situated at about 9,200 ft, is quite often in the shadows of the surrounding mountains, and has wind that blows constantly and strong. As I’m in my vehicle getting ready to run, others around me are strapping on their ski gear, snowshoe gear, and hiking gear. I’m the only one getting ready to try and run it in spandex!

IMG_0325

I started off running eastbound on Tolland Road but once again changed my mind and ran up Rollins Pass (149). The trail was just calling me. It was snow packed with 3-4 inches of newer powder on top. I was wearing my Stabilicers for the first time. The traction was great! No one else was around at all and it was beautiful! I ran for about 40 min up and then turned around for the descent. It was fine until I got back on Tolland Road. I was getting tired, my quads were frozen, and the wind was blowing against my front so hard I felt like I was standing still. The last 10 minutes sucked but overall it was a great run.

IMG_0330

IMG_0333

~ by willtriforbeer on January 23, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
